Saturday, November 1, 2008

i should be dreaming

i wish i dreamt more often. i miss dreaming a lot last summer.
i have dreams like once every few months. i had one yesterday but it was stupid, i can't even remember it. dreams used to be the best part of sleeping, and i think i only dream when i'm having a healthy sleep pattern - which i definitely do not have.

halloween was interesting. so many confusing things happened tonight, though. i dunno man, a lot of unexpected activity.

i kinda miss home, too.

blogging gets boring, it's just me complaining about random shit and trailing off on tangents that only lead to something i will understand. i think i should retire from this for a while, until i have something to write about again.

and also, where the fuck is my happy music? i can't find anything i want to listen to that isn't slow. or maybe i just become too sullen during the late night/early morning hours.

goodbye for now

Friday, October 31, 2008

the cylce

its the weekend again.

soon enough, we will have voted and decided a new president. i will have taken another midterm. thanksgiving holiday will have come and gone. yadda yadda. 

my life feels like star tours right now. i'm stuck in fucking warp speed. rex won't slow down, and we all know he's a terrible pilot (then again, it IS his first time). i want to go back to disneyland  :\

i've been feeling really heavy lately. i don't know, it's weird, hard to explain. i think it's a mix between laziness, being busy, and being tired. everything i want to do i don't end up doing due to one of those factors. maybe i'll go home next weekend, just stay in and relax for a day and a half. also i think its time for a music switch - need to change my mood.

k enough for now, 

goodnight

Friday, October 24, 2008

no time

fuck, i have a tight ass schedule.
i have no time for anything anymore.

but i kinda like it.
i would blog, but i have a midterm tomorrow and i still have about 45 minute's worth of japanese homework to do before i finish studying.


hopefully the weekend is good.
hopefully tomorrow is good.
hopefully, hopefully, hopefully.


Friday, September 19, 2008

shit...

i completely forgot about this.

hopefully updates will come soon?

move in help now and work later, hooray

Monday, September 8, 2008

wrap it up

summer is coming to an end.
i'm done with work on thursday. then a trip to SB (unfortunately, san fran has been postponed indefinitely), then two days at home, and off to school. i'm pretty excited to go back and stuff, so hopefully the year lives up to the hype. 

new job starts on the 19th, and that's gonna be VERY interesting. its crazy how much work i did this summer and how i blow money so easily. i'm pretty pathetic. nordstrom rack paid very well, and i made a little bit of scrillaaaaa while there, but my two vices definitely seized my bank account. food and fashion, expensive as hell mannnnn. and the worst part about it is i keep wanting more, when i know i don't need it. i wish i could just get a job that gave me free clothes (for life, at least)

i need to make a list of things to do for next year since so many things DIDN'T get done last year... i guess i'll start now since i'm trying to kill time until the supreme release in 3 hours:

watch sunrise (and photograph)
kickflip
make more friends
get netflix
win IM championship
go to a rave

just a few off the top of my head right now. hopefully it goes well eh.

alright, gonna nap - be back in 2.5 hours.

Tuesday, September 2, 2008

i'd really like to help you, man

Man with van load of ammunition shoots traffic light in Westwood, UCLA police say


wow.
we showed up right after this. and we were so close to the "scene."

crazy. now the end of street spirit just keeps playing in my head - you never know when...


Tuesday, August 26, 2008

big ideas

radiohead has them.

concert was great. the lights were SO good. and the band, of course, was spectacular. can't wait to see them again wednesday. funny things worked out like that, i lost a lot of money though.

so pretty much there are three weeks of summer left. gah! i will be putting in my two weeks tomorrow, and from then on the fun shall not stop. SD, LA, SD, SF. also quality time with family. then back to school! i'm quite excited for school. well, at least zero week and having a car for it.

this thing is getting neglected (as i predicted), so hopefully i pick it up during school. i've been too busy lately - which is good.

kbai4nao.

Monday, August 18, 2008

bathroom patrol

tonight was fun
extremely random and disconnected.
tired now, work tomorrow.

peace

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

read the signs: no feeding the baboon

for the record:

i will tell you anything to your face, remember that.
i don't like to talk behind people's backs, especially my friends.
next year, i'm coming home once a month max. and that will be to visit my mom and see kourtney or something.

i've been too exhausted as of late, need to stop wasting energy.

i wish i was in hawaii right now - it would be nice to watch/listen to the waves hit the sand right now. coastal erosion tells us a lot about the shoreline.

Monday, August 11, 2008

phony rappers

who do not excite.

i said it months back, everyone wants to be an artist today.
have a passion for what you do, respect the culture (applies to more than hip-hop).

peace

Saturday, August 9, 2008

2 Messages

Hello,

I believe that you can only fall in love once, and you can never fall out of it.

Goodnight

Thursday, August 7, 2008

been too long

i haven't been to huntington in like a year and change, felt good to be back. finally washed my jeans, they look dope now. hopefully pics of those will be up sooner or later.

here's some pics of the day:
















Friday, August 1, 2008

all work

and no play makes jack a dull boy.
jack is a pessimist. it makes jordan a financially stable boy, and i'm fine with that.
days off are so much sweeter when you work 8 hour shifts 3 times a week.
i just wish i could keep this job forever and balance school at the same time.
ah well, work at noon tomorrow.
goodnight!

Tuesday, July 29, 2008

expectations

let's chronicle my summer thus far...

free from school's shackles:
started off really dope. lot's of random stuff, lot's of hanging out. late nights, late days, swimming, visits, etc. was what i hoped for.

in search of...:
looking for a job pretty much anywhere to get up the funds. me and neil driving around random nearby cities. looking for a job in the early hours into the afternoon, then head back to play basketball or eat or hang with people. was pretty fun. we had a task to accomplish, then once we were finished with this "work" we'd go play. it was chill, would've been cool with this type of activity for a while.

working man:
since having my job, summer has went on a MAJOR decline as far as entertainment is concerned. every day i get out of work, everyone is at home asleep. every day i'm off work, everyone is at home doing nothing. every day before i start work, everyone is at home. wtf is going on. nobody does anything anymore. i've been complaining about this for like the past two weeks (i do love complaining), and it just gets worse and worse. this is the most boring period of any summer i've endured in my 18 years of living/enjoying summers. in all seriousness, the highlight of my day is going to work. you may be wondering why - because i have something to do and actually get to encounter human interaction. at my house everyone sleeps. that's it. sleep, go to work, sleep, repeat. there's nothing to do at home, so i like to go out. only problem is, everyone else feels the complete opposite. there's nothing to do outside, so instead of creating something or finding something to do, they'd rather sit home and "save money" or "relax" or "do absolutely nothing within the comforts of my own room with absolutely nobody else's company." goodness, this is driving me insane. next year, i've decided i won't come home from school more than twice a month. i want to come home once a month at most, so i can actually have something to do. also, when i come back home people will actually want to hang out and i don't have to worry about doing what i've been doing for the past three weeks every weekend i come back. don't get me wrong, last year everyone was down on the weekends to chill. but i don't want to cater anymore, i want to make things easier for me. i want to prefer situations more convenient to my schedule. naturally, i'm sure there will be consequences, but what the hell - can't possibly be lead to more boredom than i've sustained over the past few weeks.

wake me up when september comes around, bet everyone will get all nostalgic and available around then.

night

Tuesday, July 22, 2008

all i do is party, ha ha ha ha

the past week has been pretty dope.

two events pretty much sum it up completely: dark knight + hardfest. one of the best movies and one of the best concerts i've seen/been to in my life.

everyone's seen dark knight by now, so no point on talking about that. heath ledger was amazing. etc. etc.

hardfest was so much fun. might be the best concert i've been to thus far. standing concerts > sitting concerts without a doubt. i don't like dancing and whatever, but in an atmosphere like that, it's impossible to not have fun. drugs were all over the place, and most everyone was cracked out, but the people were still really nice (then again, people aren't really upset about anything when they're rollin).
n*e*r*d held a great performance, possibly the best i've ever seen. i've never seen a group be so active and motivate a crowd so well. there was so much moshing and crowdsurfing and jumping and everything possible to make the performance more exciting. the people were all into it, the group + the entourage, the lights, the smoke, the sound - god that was great. i'm looking forward to seeing them again next time they come around.
mstrkrft was also extremely dope. for the entire 2 hours that they were spinning, the people in the crowd did not stop moving. everyone was dancing, jumping, vibing, it was great. definitely will be making an effort to see them again as well.

the entire thing got me thinking whether i want to go to a rave or not. me and neil were thinking about it, and it seems highly likely that we'll try to attend one within the upcoming months. as long as we get a dope crew to roll with, it'll all be copacetic. whoever's interested, let me know.

well yeah, i've been slacking on the updates and the depth of the few updates that do get done, but it's because i've been way too tired lately. surprisingly, that's a good thing. work has given me something to do, has become that something to keep me occupied - i'm finally developing nice sleeping habits (nice for me, at least). 7 hours of sleep to match my 7 hours of work. it's great.

okay, work tomorrow at 3, time to get my 7 hours worth.
night.

Sunday, July 20, 2008

concerto

one of the most tiring nights of my life. so much fun.
mstkrft was ill. n.e.r.d was amazing. great event.

just got home, and now i have work at 9. tomorrow is gonna be difficult...

Wednesday, July 16, 2008

fatty

tomorrow i think i'm waking up at 9am to get a haircut. but mostly because i'm craving one of these right now:


see you at 45, heart-attack.

Tuesday, July 15, 2008

adulthood

means nothing in my household.
when can parents learn to let go? it'd be good for all parties.

work tomorrow.
goodnight

Monday, July 14, 2008

throw away your television

because shows suck nowadays.
during the course of a great discussion on old and new television shows (cartoons specifically), we came to the conclusion that this guy had one of the best shows during our childhood:


Hey Arnold! was one of the best animated shows of our era. the show had everything, really. music, emotion, great stories, morals, etc. i hope i can get a hold of the series on dvd before it fades into oblivion, i would still watch it now. the turtle episode is my favorite, of course (click the picture to watch it on nickelodeon, if you can put up with all the terrible ads of "eddie murphy in eddie murphy in meet dave").

tomorrow, 7 hour shift. somebody save me :(
afterwards what's going on? we'll see how well i am at predicting the future...


goodnight

Sunday, July 13, 2008

reminisce

8 hour shifts are crazy. my fingers feel like they could start bleeding any moment, and my body is so exhausted. i won't be up until like 2pm tomorrow, but that's the beauty of lazy sunday right? long night talking with everyone, having doing summery chill things. great stuff.

something i thought about today: have you ever felt that you didn't have control of what you were doing (without being under influence of some substance)? today i thought about it, and i realize that a lot of the time when i sit back and enjoy myself, i find that i'm doing things without really knowing that i'm doing them. not like i'm sitting on my hand and it goes numb or that my finger is bleeding and i don't notice, nothing weak like that. but like, the things i'm doing aren't really processed in my brain. it's as if i'm just doing things impulsively, actions completely uninhibited. i don't really know how i feel about that, because it makes me wonder when i'm actually being myself. am i not being myself if i don't do things that i think i should do? or if i do things before i even consider the consequences? i know i'm making it sound more complex than it really is, but it was just weird. it's like sitting watching yourself do things and not doing anything about it. sure i can do something, i can stop being so impetuous, but is it really a bad thing if i'm not doing bad things? i'm just acting spontaneous, after all.

blah, it's just weird. do you think about what you do before you do it, or just do what comes to your head first? no clue, but either way, the thing to do right now is go to sleep.

goodnight!

Saturday, July 12, 2008

this is how we chill

hiero concert was dope. first 3-4 acts (however many came on before blue scholars) sucked, but the last two acts were great.

this blue scholars group definitely earned a fan today, they're performance was really good. they were really interactive, very entertaining, and had a dope style of music. everything about them was great, i will definitely be keeping up with them from now on. the guys seemed really cool too. i talked to geologic briefly after the show and he was really down to earth. during the performance i also got to shout out MF DOOM to the entire crowd, which was pretty dope :)

hard festival is next week and i still don't have tickets. i don't even know if i work, i really need to get on it. if i can't make it though, rock the bells will be my next concert. either way it will be the best of the summer without a doubt since MF has been confirmed as an act. i hope that nasty email i wrote impacted something or someone, or at least got read by someone. the lineup for the concert is gonna be dope (wish the roots were there, though), and i can't wait for august to come 'round.

work has been pretty good i guess. did two 4 hour shifts, and now coming up on my first 8 hour day. it's keeping me occupied, which is good, because it means that i don't have to sit at home and be upset that everyone flaked for the day. now i actually have to schedule things, i feel like i'm more organized. and i actually have spending money, which is a huge plus.

well, i should sleep. work at 12, peace.

Wednesday, July 9, 2008

rule number 1

keep your fazers on stun.
something i've been trying to teach stephen for the past few months. boxing day will come sooner or later before summer's over - not the day after christmas.

the past few days have been pretty boring. to the point where i haven't even taken my camera out the house. this isn't like last summer, there was always something to do. now i sit around at home until like 6pm and go out later for like 4-6 hours, which is pretty much a waste of a day. where are the spontaneous trips? where are the random visits to peoples' homes? where are the beach trips? where the hell is orange county? gahdaklsnd. i need to be busy.

work tomorrow. hopefully this is that "something to do" to make my days feel more substantive. i don't like to waste things, time included. first day in 7 hours, goodnight.

Monday, July 7, 2008

emoshinz



this song never ceases to amaze me.

Sunday, July 6, 2008

nightvision

so while i sit here listening to daft punk, i'm deciding to write a little bit on my mood.
i've been very irritable as of late, i don't know why. small things have been upsetting me, and my fuse has been quite short. also, i keep looking for negative things. and i've been really bored. am i doing something wrong? why does everything seem so lackluster? i need to diversify... to diverge maybe. i'm starting to feel lethargic. it seems like my life is in black and white now - too dull, too monotonous. i want color again, i miss the effervescence.

yes. no. stop. go. ughhhhhh
why can't i just listen.
goodnight

Saturday, July 5, 2008

pyro-glyphics

spending 4th of july in LA and seeing all these random kids set off their own pyrotechnic parade in their front yards made me realize how easily people are amused. i mean really, i used to love fireworks and everything. even though i've lit like two my whole life, they were fun to watch and all that when i was about 7 years old. honestly, i enjoy light shows as much as anyone else. i used to love listening to and watching the firework shows when i worked at disneyland. every time i had a night shift i hoped i was off work by 9:15 so i could watch the array of colors shoot through the sky over cinderella's castle for that twenty-two minutes. it's very mesmerizing. but i don't understand how you can stay entertained when you're 16+ years old and sit in the driveway lighting random sparklers and bottlerockets off for 6 hours. all negativity aside though, i still had fun watching the professional shows/displays from afar. driving on the 605 seeing huge fireworks in every direction was pretty cool. now i really want to watch the sunset for some reason.

arright. i'm kinda tired, so short entry today.
happy belated 4th, and goodnight

Thursday, July 3, 2008

yu-gi-OMG

strangest thing ever.
mike and harry show up at my house playing yu-gi-oh at 3 in the morning. i thought that was weird, but not too out of the ordinary for mike and harry to do. so i watch them play this stupid game for about 30 minutes, i'm taking pictures, yadda yadda. now mind you, it's near 330 in the morning - all the nocturnal creatures are roaming around like it's nobody's business. so being the paranoid person that I am, I keep looking around trying to find where all these random noises are coming from. eventually I see one of my neighbors come out of the shadows around his porch and head out for work. kinda scary at first, but then you realize "oh that's just mr. so-and-so going to work, nothing unusual." next, I see movement near my doorstep, peek over and see a cat. now this is when it starts getting weird.

so the cat walks by, scurries across the driveway, and goes by my trash cans. again, not too strange, right? so then mike and harry continue playing yu-gi-oh. by this time, harry is about as "observant" as i am, checking his shoulder every few minutes. so about 3-5 minutes go by and all of a sudden we hear scuffling through the trash on the side of my house. could easily be explained by the cat going through some random trash that wasn't in a bin (newspapers, cans, bottles, etc.). so me and harry both look to the side of my house to see what's going on, but it's pitch black. then all of a sudden, we hear the most human-like breathing pattern/noises coming from the side of the house. out of absolutely nowhere. no more rummaging noise, just something breathing very heavily as if it just ran the 400m dash. immediately we all look at each other (somehow), and gather everything and take off. so pretty much we sit in my house until like 4am and then mike and harry sprint to mike's car to go home. definitely the scariest incident i've experienced in quite a while.

if anyone has heard a coyote breathing, let me know if it sounds human-like. tomorrow morning i have to go check for cat blood to see what the deal was. if there's blood, it was most likely a coyote or fox or something that roams around here eating someone's pet. if there is no evidence of a struggle, then i'm gonna be very confused and slightly afraid.

someone should buy me a gun. that would also help me get my rap career off the ground, lawl.

okay, i'm still a bit shook up, but it's time for my slumber. just don't tell mobb deep, i got street cred to protect. peace.

Monday, June 30, 2008

visuals

lately.














goodnight

Sunday, June 29, 2008

project mayhem

watched fight club again. i really like that movie.
even though there are random parts that don't really make sense and can only "make sense" by attributing the impracticality or improbability of the situation happening (spoiler alert) to schizophrenia, it's still a great movie. i remember someone saying it's even better when you watch it a second time, and i will have to agree. the way the director(s) handle the entire situation is genius in retrospect. overall, the movie is/was/will always be great, regardless of the parts that don't seem to make much sense realistically (then again, it could just be me being slow).

i keep watching movies i've already seen over and over again. this isn't helping me get anywhere with my list of 250 movies (aka the imdb top rated movies of all time) to watch by the end of summer. hopefully i'll get a hold of memento (meh-mehn-toe, as the fruitcake at hollywood video felt the need to butt in to the conversation that did not involve him), oldboy, city of god, blow, etc. all the movies i feel i should've seen somehow before if i had ever actually been interested in films... or entertainment in general, actually.

whenever i think back on how behind i am when it comes to knowing random tidbits everyone else will seem to take for granted, and realize that i don't know anything about them, i feel comparable to stephen (knows NOTHING about popular culture, excluding new - bad – music). the only thing i realize i know about is rap music. my 90s hip hop knowledge stayed pretty much up to par throughout my childhood, but when the underground scene came about, i refused to immerse myself within the community. something else i regret. sure, i was blastin' nas before most kids were; when i illegally downloaded illmatic in 6th grade i thought i was the shit, but i missed out on so many great acts around that time. i remember when i used to browse sixshot forums to keep up to date on the latest hip hop news. waiting to see what scandals and rumors had arisen. i remember downloading my first MF DOOM song, being completely unready for such creativity and thinking that mess was trash, then proceeding to read up on the most recent nelly or jay-z story. all in all i guess my journey through hip hop wasn't too bad - there are still some (18 year-old) "kids" today running around bumpin power 106 to hear the latest weezy or g-unit single. diversify, kiddies... it's good for you.

well all the people that were awake have simultaneously drifted off, and i suppose it's about time for me to do the same.

late

Friday, June 27, 2008

impulse

spontaneity. its great.
i love when things happen out of the blue.
tonight was a great preview of the irvine trips that will be happening this summer, and within 6 hours we had so much fun that the day-long trips have to be promising.

good stuff.

interview tomorrow at 2, ugh.

goodnight.

Thursday, June 26, 2008

eh i'll do it later

being on summer break makes me realize: i'm one of the most unproductive people ever, period. i had about 40 things planned to do. ranging from basketball, to watching movies, to washing my clothes, to cleaning up, etc. i woke up at 830, went to the gym, got home at 12, and slept until 530. then i woke up, got chipotle, came back home, and sat at my desk for about 8 hours. i didn't finish washing, cleaning, uploading pictures (although that was facebook's fault - or at least facebook's exporter app)..... nothing. and now it's 530 in the morning, and i'm going to sleep after wasting the entire day. hopefully tomorrow is more worthwhile.

in case you don't know, i hate doing nothing.... if that makes sense. i have to be busy. when i worked at disneyland, i loved working register. there were always people needing help with something. and if people didn't need help, there was candy to be transported, clothes to be arranged, items to find, etc. that's why i'm always so ancy sitting around at school and at home. i'd rather be out roaming the streets or driving around aimlessly with friends than sitting at home "relaxing." you'll have plenty of time to relax by yourself later, go out and do something.

speaking of hanging with people, this reminds me: i want to take pictures of the sunrise next schoolyear. hopefully michael will have his dslr and i won't be the only person awake to do it. whenever i'd take my eyes off the computer screen to glance at the clock and upon seeing the time of "4:30" displayed in those huge greenish-yellow bars, i'd contemplate getting up off my butt and going outside to take pictures of the sunrise. of course i'd get lazy and make excuses like "oh i don't have a tripod," or "it'll be boring just taking pictures by myself," or some other nonsense to make me feel better about being lazy. next year though, i'll do it at least once. it will be added on my mental list of "things to do" before the year's over.

today as i was browsing around the internet, i stumbled upon a few blogs and "artsy-sites" where people like to express their feelings and opinions and whatnot, and realized something: not that i've been using colons a lot more as of late, but that so many people are over-dramatic. i may be known to exaggerate a few things (okay, MOST things), but people that really know me well can tell that i'm usually just joking. what i mean is that i quite often say how much i "hate" something, or how much i wish someone would cease to exist (usually famous people), but my friends know that it's just a joke. i don't actually wish people would die, that's extreme hateration - i'm only a moderate hater at most. and i may be annoyed by lots of things, but i don't "hate" many things per se, i just wish i could see less of them. but i realize people aren't all the same, and that when i dislike something, not everyone will feel the same way. i'm fine with that. but when people talk about how much things suck or how sad random things make them, it just makes me want to look at them and ask "do you need a hug?" yeah, we all have problems and hardships that we have to deal with, but i don't see how people can be so down about their lives so often. i was always taught that when i have a problem to fix it. nowadays it seems that when people have problems, it's better to complain about how bad it is than to do something about it. sure, this entire blog could be considered "complaining" about problems i have, but that's not my intent. i'm a very happy person, i'm very content with who i am, where i am, and how i've become me. i just wish people could be happier overall, i wish i could help somehow. maybe everyone should just listen to electronic music. you can't be sad when you roll around blasting girl talk (props to nick seranio for recommending me this guy) all day. let's stray away from the dashboard confessional and linkin park, guys. it'll make the world a happier place :)

Monday, June 23, 2008

weezy bay-beh

today i had like 6 different conversations about entertainment, careers, yadda yadda. after aimlessly browsing the internet for a few hours, getting into a very cynical mindset, and then listening to a bunch of electronic music, i've come to a conclusion about all these convos i had throughout the day - everything comes down to creativity.

if i could just pick one solid theme that my day revolved around, it would without a doubt be creative aptitude. i was talking to my mom earlier about how important creativity is to find certain jobs and stuff, it was a very interesting discussion. then we argued about lil wayne for like 8 hours at mar'tee's. that whole discussion was kind of saddening. i can't understand how people can honestly like music AND like lil wayne, doesn't make sense to me and probably never will. then the whole television thing: family guy, then some terrible movie, then a brief talk about "good movies" and m. night shamalan. creativity was responsible for everything that made me laugh, entertained me, made me upset, made me feel ashamed, made me feel anything.

i realize that i am entertained by things that are different, and things that are not different just tend to piss me off. i mean, i kinda knew this already, but it didn't really matter that much to me until i saw how much it affected my mood today. some of the discussions i had just pissed me off because i don't see how people can be so simple-minded sometimes. i want to be as detailed with this as i can because i want to reread this later and reevaluate my position because i might be overreacting or just being extremely elitist about this whole thing. all in all, people that have no creativity or uniqueness to them upset me. i mean, it's just so easy to have something special about yourself. some recognizable quality that makes you different. something to distinguish you from the rest of mindless drones that walk around like automated machines, living life pretty much systematically.

this is why i always try to go against the grain for fun, the reasons i don't want to blend in with what people expect me to blend in with. this is why i always make fun of mike when he dresses like me, or make fun of neil for listening to the same music i do, or just laugh at all the random indie mofos that dress like their life is so tragic and live an entirely counterintuitive existence by trying to stand out, but looking exactly like all the other indie kids with no real sense of individuality. a lot of the time my prejudgment is proven to be inaccurate when i actually get to know someone, but that makes meeting people all the more exciting. its just when i do encounter those repetitious, mundane personalities, it frustrates me. don't get me wrong, you don't have to be some bright-color-wearing, obnoxious-acting, artistically-abstract-thinking, animated character, you just have to care about being an individual. i know people that look boring, are extremely quiet, and enjoy (things that i feel are) the stupidest hobbies on the planet. but these people can still be interesting to me for the fact that they don't want to fit in. that's creative in my eyes. creativity is just not being like everyone else; whether you're reserved or super-outgoing, it doesn't matter. just don't be like everyone else, please.

since i'm pretty much just having an e-tantrum right now, i might as well go on about something else that bothers me. something that really gets on my nerves is when people try to be internet-chic or e-cool by using random formatting and emoticons. that shit does not look "pretty" or make you seem like some uber-stylish tech genius. FORMATTING IS ONLY USEFUL IN EMPHASIZING WORDS THAT DESERVE EMPHASIS, STOP USING IT AS IF IT'S SOME TYPE OF PUNCTUATION TOOL OR BASIC SENTENCE BUILDER . don't alternate capitals, don't put little "~"s and "&hearts"s in your text, it doesn't look good. alternating caps is the worst idea since chopped & screwed music. it looks terrible, is incredibly difficult to read, and wastes your time typing it and my time trying to figure out what you're saying and why you can't type it like a normal person would. don't format words for the sake of formatting, bolded words that deserve no special attention are just regular words that look stupid. imagine formatted words to be words you'd yell or stress or drag in a verbal conversation (e.g "he did WHAT?"). you don't bold words unless they need that emphasis. this is my little test for if a word deserves formatting.

read the sentence with formatted word out loud
if word is bolded - say louder. if italicized - hold it longer. if underlined - who knows, but say it differently.
see if formatting fits well in current spot
if not, TAKE THAT JUNK OUT.

alright, i guess that's enough negativity for one day. hopefully everything's sunshine tomorrow. i'm gonna go daydream.
out

Sunday, June 22, 2008

hype

dslrs are the new dunks.
photography has become the new sneaker culture. perhaps that's because most sneaker hype ass kids jumped on the bandwagon to take dope pics of their nikeSBz and bright stussy/hundreds/streetwear shirts. whether or not i once fell into that category is irrelevant, i've had this camera for almost 2 years, and before that i was trying to use my mom's canon and my point & shoot i got in 04. even though i'm not good at taking artistic or stunning photos, i've always enjoyed photography, and will continue to build my skills, being an enthusiast. but nowadays, everyone's buying cameras because they think they're cool. c'mon, did you really need that camera? do you even know what SLR stands for? do you know why that piece of equipment costs 600+? if not, you might've fallen into the ever-increasing hype of the photo world. oh well, i guess it just happens. hopefully people use it to actually pursue a hobby, and don't just treat it like some plain old powershot or something.

in other news, today was fun. played basketball, saw a bunch of random people i don't know, and bothered stephen. that equals success to me. now i'm tired, i've been up for too long. and i think i have to wake up early, ugh.

pictures coming soon... peace

Thursday, June 19, 2008

teh internets

the world wide web is full of amazing sites/services that most people will never know exist. for lack of giving too much away, that is all i will disclose (no, it's not anything pornographic for all you neil-type people). being able to spend over 3 hours using random internet programs without getting bored. amazing.

job search went eh. got like 40 applications and about 2 responses: "we're accepting applications, but are currently fully staffed" and "sorry, we're not hiring." why is everyone so packed. don't people have vacations to go on? or summer school to attend? full time? ugh. finding a job should not be this difficult. in the meantime, my bank account slowly diminishes. stupid disneyland. why can't a corporation that large and "professional" handle their own affairs? they need some serious internal restructuring.

also, lil wayne sucks. i don't know if you knew that, but he is terrible. one of the worst rappers i've ever heard. he's like dr. seuss's ghetto-horny-drug addicted-dysfunctional-nappy headed-less artistic-stupid-pompous alter ego. he talks about random ordinary things and compares them to other random ordinary things. hence: "i'm counting all day like the clock on the wall." really? this is considered "talent?" i could honestly come up with bars like this without having more than a second-grader's understanding of the english language. oh wait... i can't believe people look up to this guy. do you really think you can make that much money? do you really think money is even that important? do you think that this guy is respectable now because he made a dirty fortune? get outta here. i've had tacos smarter than this guy. but what do i know, immoral behavior is the new black. bah.

while on music, someone recommend me some jazz. i got a bunch from my grandpa, but i want it ALLLLLLLLL!

k, i'm tired from basketball a few hours ago, shower then sleep. more job searching tomorrow -_-

night

Wednesday, June 18, 2008

peekachurz





asphalt and chlorine

again, another great day of summertime activity. even though i woke up at freakin 10 in the morning and went to sleep at 6 and even though the lakers lost and even though i still don't have a job, today was fun.

got up, met with resco, gave him his shirt. took back my shoes, visited higgins while waiting for everyone to wake up and stephen to flake on me (lulz), went to like 34062943 taco tuesdays to find out nobody wants to start serving tacos until it's way too late to even eat them, went to brea with mike, met with mary, rushed back to make it to que pasa, watched lakers get blown out, ate ice cream, played basketball, on the run, then home.

these types of random events make life great. i'm one for planning out things and whatnot, but i love surprises too (most of the time... but that's another story). last summer we'd make the most random possible trips to orange county at like midnight, enjoy the sounds of the ocean and fresh air at 2am, then go home. even though we haven't made any huge excursions as such, playing basketball at 11 with 8 people at crossroads park is pretty ill still. especially when you're playing with characters like v lin, k lock, houseshoes senegal, and (yesterday) duy-pain. quite the cast. basketball and swimming, two activities i hope to see quite a bit of this summer. i want to go back to school in better shape, financially comfortable, and content with my summer. if we keep up at this rate - excluding the whole jobless thing - that should be pretty easy.

tomorrow: job hunting starts. me and neil are tired of being completely effin broke, always wanting random small items but justifying not purchasing them because of our lack of dough. i should become a rapper. everyone can do it nowadays anyway. if i don't find a job by the end of next week, i might just have to put out a demo tape. all i need is a gimmick. dave chappelle taught me at least that much. some type of dance or style or facet of culture that nobody has incorporated into rap music. i can be like the rap yellowcard and rap while using a ukulele. but then again, to be the rap version of yellowcard - as mike, jared, lauren and i agreed today - i'd also have to suck at making music. oh well, i'll look into it.

okay, i'm getting sleepy now and have to wake up at 10, so it is time to wrap it up... later

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

summaaaaa

well today was officially the first day of summer vacation for everyone. neil and i decided to swim and tell everyone to come by. mike mary belinda and theresa all came. pretty fun day.
swim, pictures, shoppes, argument, swim, basketball, food, winco. good times.

i hope summer stays this fun. i guess it's only so free now though because i don't have a job. ughhh i need a job. gas is killer, i want so much junk, food costs money, currency sucks. everything is so expensive now, and it makes such a dent in my pocket. i always try to execute some premature plan to make money for spending or to save up money so i can buy something big, but it becomes so much harder when there's no type of money flowing inward. i gotta stop, though. i don't want to live always thinking about making money (ehhh, college is a different story). i want to be able to enjoy summer for what it's worth - sitting out in the sun listening to dope music and driving around aimlessly all day/night. that's what made last summer so amazing. hopefully when we all have jobs, the random excursions at midnight will commence.

switching topics: i haven't blogged in quite some time, and yesterday i noticed that michael and tatum had left me comments. and randomly mike rich commented my blog. it was funny how i noticed everyone started to see this thing around the same time (or at least it became apparent that people knew about it around the same time). it's fun though, this whole blogging thing. it gives me something to do around these times when i need to sleep but don't want to yet, and it gives me time to listen to music.

musicmusicmusic, another reason summer is so great.i don't know about everyone else, but i think "summer music" is so great. summer music to me is just more mellow, more relaxing overall, more vibe-ey. summertime is all about vibin', chillin', laxin', and other dope-sounding words without the "g" (etc. "swimmin', shoppin', ballin'," etc.). i plan on doing lots of that stuff with my ipod present. can't go anywhere without my ipod now, and once we get the boombox project completed, it's gonna be even better.

alright then. things to do tomorrow: wake up early, go to the mall, buy harddrive, look for boombox, make flickr account, and eat at home.

goodnight, time to listen to some seu jorge.

Sunday, June 15, 2008

summer

is a great season.

i'm gonna get lazy with this.

goodnight

Tuesday, June 10, 2008

wow

so pretty much finals week sucks.
i keep listening to the new n*e*r*d CD, first couple songs (not including the opening track) are still w/e to me, but it is a dope CD.
i listened to Seeing Sounds, Return to the Sea, and Who Will Cut Our Hair When We're Gone? at least 5 times each while writing this damn paper, and now i'm done.
i still have to pack... and study... and prepare to go.
ughhhhhh
two more days (about)......

Thursday, June 5, 2008

breakfast?



so i guess i'm done with my rough draft for that paper. i didn't even do a conclusion, but it's good enough. i've been up since 12 o'clock 6/4, and i haven't crashed yet. i just need to make it until tonight and i'm good. the sad thing is, i could've gotten at least 4 hours of sleep, but i have the shortest possible attention span in the world. i would sit down for 45 minutes doing nothing and write for 15 minutes. get about a paragraph done then go back to not working. this entire night was like shampoo-bottle directions on how to not be productive:
daze off
write for 30 seconds
research
surf the internet
daze off
repeat.

oh well, at least i get to go to sprinkles today if the line's not too long. i also need to go to walmart, but the closest one is on effin crenshaw. i'm def. not going that far to go find 5 dollar shoes and cheap toothpaste, i'll just have to deal with the overpriced rite-aid imitation that is cvs pharmacy.
this weekend better be fun, i've done too much work this week already, and i still have math homework and cluster reading to do... ugh.
alright enough pessimism, i'm gonna go eat breakfast - and it's a weekday! there's a first time for everything right?

PS: i want this, someone buy it for me please.

Wednesday, June 4, 2008

>:O

clusters....
ugh

Tuesday, June 3, 2008

almost back to normal

finally, my music is back on my computer. feels good knowing it's (somewhat) backed up. even though it took way too much work to take songs off my iPod and put them on the computer, at least they're there now, and i can relax a bit. i was so paranoid my iPod would somehow break and i would lose all my music before i could back it up, but it survived. now i can sit here listening to random songs and procrastinating at 4am like the good ol' days. hoorah.

i've been trying to create my summer playlists for a while now, but i keep getting too distracted. and when i actually do make one, the list is really long. i have my "chill" songs numbered at 300 right now. that's gonna be wayyyyyy too many songs to actually be able to navigate in the car. i guess it's all tentative. one thing's for sure: by school's end i should have the perfect playlists for summer. ahh a week and one day. so little time, so much to do. ughhhhh.

my brain isn't working well tonight, i really have nothing to talk about and i don't want to ramble on about nothing for another 3 paragraphs, so i'm just gonna do mastering physics. oh hell and i work tomorrow, even better.

Monday, June 2, 2008

reunited

so i finally got my computer back. it's so weird. none of my stuff is on here, i hate starting from scratch. music is all backed up, so that's no big. applications, no problem. documents even i can do without. what REALLY upsets me is that i lost all those pictures. gahhhhh. oh well, i guess it's all memory now (and whatever's on facebook). on the flipside, the ol' mac is running very smoothly. it's fast and there aren't any bugs. i'm gonna be very careful with 3rd party apps from now on. even if that didn't brick my hard drive, i don't want to risk it. and i'll be buying an external this week. i've learned my lesson.

i've been listening to Islands/The Unicorns for the last month or so and still haven't gotten tired of it. i'm really liking the music. it makes me so happy and relaxed. even though canadians may not know how to play basketball, they got this indie music thing down. 
speaking of music, Mighty Mic was last week. i'm pretty bummed that i missed Zion I and Rhymefest. even stephen (lol) said they were good, which is really something. now, let's chronicle my Mighty Mic experience:
i got there while some random band was in the middle of their performance, then went to find stephen. when i found him he was saying something or another about free stuff and earplugs. i didn't really know what he was trying to tell me, but i nodded and went to collect freebies from the "booths" in the back. after getting honest tea and free american apparel shirts (approved by mike chan i'm sure), i went back towards the stage to hear some band called Rock & Roll perform. after a short while they started their performance, and after an even shorter duration of time, i left. i can honestly say that was the worst performance i had ever witnessed (worse than Lupe at UCI). they were terrible. they just rambled about absolutely nothing for like 12 seconds, and i realized if i were to stay for any longer my intestines would explode. so i went back to the room with my honest tea, and then went out for roscoe's with the r7n peeps and michael.

as opposed to pretty much everyone, i'm kinda sad school's coming to an end. the year went by so fast that it makes me feel a bit scared. i've always heard that schooling goes by faster and faster as you get older, and now i'm really feeling it. i thought senior went by fast just because it was my last year in high school, but now that my first year in college went by even faster than that, i don't know what to think. i'm also a bit disappointed because i didn't make any really good friends. i feel like i made a lot of acquaintances and quite a few friends, but i don't think i made any friends that are "keep-in-touch-over-summer" or "let's-hang-sometime" friends. everyone i know will go back to their respective groups and stuff. i'm sure we'll all be cool next school year, but i wanted to be closer to people than that. i guess that's just something i have to try to change next year.

also, i need money and a job. i keep seeing things i want to buy but i have no dollazzz. and i keep planning on buying so much stuff in the near future, but don't have the capital to do so. decisions decisions. hopefully the radiohead tickets will get me out of this "hole" i'm in. 

okay that's enough. goodnight

Thursday, May 29, 2008

interesting.

last summer was a lot of fun.
i had a pretty steady clique.
this summer will probably be different.
also, something that i've been thinking about a lot. a sort of "psa." there are very few people that i consider to be "real" today. a lot of people like to act big. i'm no gangsta-gangsta or anything even of that nature, but if i ever say something behind your back, believe that i would say the same shit to your face. i won't say something about you i'm afraid to tell you in person for whatever reason (unless you're like scarface or something). that's just how i was raised. so if you can read that and contemplate whether or not you would do the same, you're probably a punk, and you need to grow some.
thanks.

Wednesday, May 28, 2008

all night long

procrastination - for ballas only.
i should really start an insomniac's club at UCLA. i'd have like 3 other club-mates, but it'd give me something to do on nights like this.
k time to sleep or something, it's too bright outside

Tuesday, May 27, 2008

deep fried frenz

today me mat and michael went back to the festival for reggae day. we had two objectives: see stephen marley and eat lots of food. we did see stephen marley, and we ate a funnel cake, but everything was way too expensive, and we didn't eat as much food as we anticipated. when funnel cakes are 8 bucks, you don't even want to ask how much real food is. at least the funnel cake was very tasty and filling. i didn't even eat half of it and i was done, but now i feel sick. then again, the sickness could also be attributed to the terrible air quality. if you thought jam day had a lot of smoke, you forgot what reggae music was about.

on the way to the festival, we were surprised to see there were way more people on the field than there were for jam day. i know stephen marley is pretty big, but i didn't know he'd draw that much more of a crowd than the roots. of course we heard a bunch of bob marley covers (but we didn't hear "jamming"). but the real highlight of the show was definitely CAPLETON. at first we were a bit confused when stephen marley was coming on at 5 considering the festival ends at 7. either he was gonna have a 2 hour set, or some other guy was the real headliner. so we hear the name capleton floating around, but don't know who the hell he is. after rummaging through some records (finding a "phoney phranchise" vinyl for $1) and going to all the stores, we hear stephen's set end, and head over to see who this capleton guy is, and how he could possibly be bigger than stephen marley. so after sitting in anticipation for about 30 minutes, capleton comes out looking like a cross between eddie murphy in delirious, afrika bambaataa, and elephant man. already, we could tell this was gonna be worth the wait. so he starts performing, and we realize he knows about 3 words in the english language: rastafari, peace, and UCLA (which was by far his favorite). for the next hour or so, capleton proceeded to put on the most energetic performance in the history of the world. he jumped around the entire time, came up with at least 15 different dances, and shouted at everyone in languages that nobody understood. it was amazing. if this man were to create an aerobics workout, no doubt you would lose at least 20 pounds, learn how to speak/understand Jamaican dialect, and start putting sticks in your mouth every day.

after the whole festival, we ate and stuff. later we watched pirates of the caribbean. during that whole time, i got absolutely no work done, and now i'm even more behind than i thought i could be. but it's cool, andrew lee is here and maybe when he's bored i'll have him do some of my work for me. he can give it the berkeley effort.

i suppose that's enough for today, sleep sounds nice.

Monday, May 26, 2008

bass check one two

even though they didn't perform "essaywhuman," the roots' performance was great. they performed a few too many new songs, and black thought teased me with his "distortion to static" laugh in the middle, but it was definitely a dope act. considering my favorite CDs are organix, do you want more??!?!??!, illadelph halflife, and things fall apart, there are a few songs i was hoping to hear that did not get played, but oh well.

the day overall was really fun. there was so much weed though, and that ish makes my head hurt. i still find it interesting to see how many people smoke. i think i may be kinda naive when it comes to it, but i never imagined that many people would be potheads. and considering today was only jam day, tomorrow might possibly be worse. not only will i see people walking around with blunts on their ears, maybe they'll just roll up a blanket and light that junk on fire. i'm expecting to see something ridiculous, but only tomorrow will tell.

now to the acts:
we showed up when tribal jazz was on, and they were pretty good. neil's relatives (people from senegal) were pretty entertaining, and the members were talented in my opinion – which isn't really the best opinion i'm sure. still, the drummer aka eric scerri was really cool, and i definitely enjoyed their set... even with their 15 minute songs.

the second stage had some decent acts. i thought the brett canters trio or whatever it was called was pretty good, sounded like songs that could be fun to play in guitar hero. the elevaters were pretty wack to me, though. everyone was all excited to see them perform, but their entire show sounded like 4 or 5 average musicians just jamming in a garage. but what more can you expect from a "progressive-jazz-hip-hop-grunge-fusion band" or whatever the hell the guy called them.

goapele was alright, her voice was piercing to my ears though. and i don't understand why she'd play "93 'til infinity" when she definitely was not on that song. she could've easily just played "make your move" and made everyone happy, but no. she was cool though, no complaints.
NOW, on to the second most anticipated act: immortal technique.

people love immortal tech because he's real. he doesn't beat around the bushes and won't give you any bs. he talks about politics and expresses his anti-government attitude everywhere. he promotes unity amongst the people and supports pretty much a true democracy in which the people hold all the power – and he sucks at being a rapper.
i don't know how people can like immortal technique as a rapper. he's angry at EVERYONE for absolutely no reason. he talks about "f*ck george bush, f*ck the industry, f*ck the people who don't realize how great of a rapper i am. i'm the best, other people just don't know it yet." c'mon now, grow up. i'm sure this guy reads a lot of internet forums to gather his conspiracy-based material, but that doesn't mean anything he says is important. he talks about all this ish that pisses him of, but what really comes about when all you do is complain to people who aren't as passionate about it as you are? michael put it best: "immortal technique needs a hug"
if you really think IT is a good rapper, you need to expand a little bit. just because you use big words and talk about controversial topics does not make you good. i can name mainstream rappers that are more talented than he is, and that says something. "uff the cops, uff undercover cops, i'll blow up your car, blah blah blah." that's all i hear him saying every time he performs. hardcore hip hop is definitely in danger if this guy's to be one of the movement leaders. then again, hip hop is also in a pretty bad state when kanye west is praised as the MC of the year – but i'll save that for another post.

wow, that was long. now it's time to sleep. i'll leave off with the songs i wanted to hear the roots perform, but did not get included. these are all great, listen to them. now.
  • distortion to static
  • i remain calm
  • do you want more?!!??!
  • essaywhuman?!!!??!
  • false media
  • baby
  • episodes
  • clones
  • what they do
  • no alibi
  • one shine
  • pass the popcorn
  • the anti-circle
  • rock you
  • p*ssy galore
  • dynamite!
  • 100% dundee
  • the next movement
that is all, goodnight!

Sunday, May 25, 2008

i should be awake

after a long night of skating, a fire alarm, random phonecalls, and more garbage, we're finally heading out to jazzreggaefest. hopefully the roots perform good old songs and stuff, because i do not own "rising down." also, i hope immortal tech doesn't ramble on and on about how upset he is about something completely unimportant to me – oh wait...
over the past few days everyone's been getting pretty hyped for this event. so many people are gonna be gone before they even come. i mean, seriously, it's a jazz-REGGAE festival, so many kids associate reggae with one thing and we all know what that is: dreads. hopefully the presence of the "dreads" isn't too strong, the smell of it makes me nauseous.

since we're on the topic of music (kinda), i've been looking at so many concerts to go to. it's like i caught whatever disease michael has. i wanna see about 3 concerts in the next month and a half, and then radiohead in august, holla. unfortunately there's no MF DOOM or daft punk or muse concerts in that time, but we'll just cross our fingers and hope.

ahhhh well, time to go smell dreads, laugh at drunk people, and listen to music in very gloomy weather, hoorah!

Friday, May 23, 2008

backwards

5pm – time to sleep.

grand opening

well i'm about to head out to h&m for the shoppes grand opening. even though i can only win a max of 100 bucks, which won't happen anyway, i guess i'm a little excited. there's a special place in my heart for campouts. lots of bonding, shenanigans, and little sleep. hopefully we can get some truants removed from line, haha.
this should be a really fun weekend.

Thursday, May 22, 2008

finally

well i finally made a blog (even though this was completely out of boredom, and will probably last for less than a week, i still did it). it's already 4 am, and i'm just sitting at the computer wasting time. i should really go to sleep. then again, that's exactly what i was saying to myself an hour and a half ago, and what am i doing now.
switching topics: i miss my computer. my hard drive unexpectedly stopped spinning last week, and now it's completely dead. everything is gone. no pictures, no music, no files (have to do all that stupid research again, ugh). apple really let me down here. i don't even want to think about it anymore, but it's kind of hard not to when i'm sitting here on stephen's computer pretty much taunting myself.
in other news - i hate kanye west. if you're reading this, you probably already knew that. but yeah, he's reallllllly terrible.
that's enough for tonight