the day overall was really fun. there was so much weed though, and that ish makes my head hurt. i still find it interesting to see how many people smoke. i think i may be kinda naive when it comes to it, but i never imagined that many people would be potheads. and considering today was only jam day, tomorrow might possibly be worse. not only will i see people walking around with blunts on their ears, maybe they'll just roll up a blanket and light that junk on fire. i'm expecting to see something ridiculous, but only tomorrow will tell.
now to the acts:
we showed up when tribal jazz was on, and they were pretty good. neil's relatives (people from senegal) were pretty entertaining, and the members were talented in my opinion – which isn't really the best opinion i'm sure. still, the drummer aka eric scerri was really cool, and i definitely enjoyed their set... even with their 15 minute songs.
the second stage had some decent acts. i thought the brett canters trio or whatever it was called was pretty good, sounded like songs that could be fun to play in guitar hero. the elevaters were pretty wack to me, though. everyone was all excited to see them perform, but their entire show sounded like 4 or 5 average musicians just jamming in a garage. but what more can you expect from a "progressive-jazz-hip-hop-grunge-fusion band" or whatever the hell the guy called them.
goapele was alright, her voice was piercing to my ears though. and i don't understand why she'd play "93 'til infinity" when she definitely was not on that song. she could've easily just played "make your move" and made everyone happy, but no. she was cool though, no complaints.
NOW, on to the second most anticipated act: immortal technique.
people love immortal tech because he's real. he doesn't beat around the bushes and won't give you any bs. he talks about politics and expresses his anti-government attitude everywhere. he promotes unity amongst the people and supports pretty much a true democracy in which the people hold all the power – and he sucks at being a rapper.
i don't know how people can like immortal technique as a rapper. he's angry at EVERYONE for absolutely no reason. he talks about "f*ck george bush, f*ck the industry, f*ck the people who don't realize how great of a rapper i am. i'm the best, other people just don't know it yet." c'mon now, grow up. i'm sure this guy reads a lot of internet forums to gather his conspiracy-based material, but that doesn't mean anything he says is important. he talks about all this ish that pisses him of, but what really comes about when all you do is complain to people who aren't as passionate about it as you are? michael put it best: "immortal technique needs a hug"
if you really think IT is a good rapper, you need to expand a little bit. just because you use big words and talk about controversial topics does not make you good. i can name mainstream rappers that are more talented than he is, and that says something. "uff the cops, uff undercover cops, i'll blow up your car, blah blah blah." that's all i hear him saying every time he performs. hardcore hip hop is definitely in danger if this guy's to be one of the movement leaders. then again, hip hop is also in a pretty bad state when kanye west is praised as the MC of the year – but i'll save that for another post.
wow, that was long. now it's time to sleep. i'll leave off with the songs i wanted to hear the roots perform, but did not get included. these are all great, listen to them. now.
- distortion to static
- i remain calm
- do you want more?!!??!
- essaywhuman?!!!??!
- false media
- baby
- episodes
- clones
- what they do
- no alibi
- one shine
- pass the popcorn
- the anti-circle
- rock you
- p*ssy galore
- dynamite!
- 100% dundee
- the next movement
No comments:
Post a Comment