Sunday, June 29, 2008

project mayhem

watched fight club again. i really like that movie.
even though there are random parts that don't really make sense and can only "make sense" by attributing the impracticality or improbability of the situation happening (spoiler alert) to schizophrenia, it's still a great movie. i remember someone saying it's even better when you watch it a second time, and i will have to agree. the way the director(s) handle the entire situation is genius in retrospect. overall, the movie is/was/will always be great, regardless of the parts that don't seem to make much sense realistically (then again, it could just be me being slow).

i keep watching movies i've already seen over and over again. this isn't helping me get anywhere with my list of 250 movies (aka the imdb top rated movies of all time) to watch by the end of summer. hopefully i'll get a hold of memento (meh-mehn-toe, as the fruitcake at hollywood video felt the need to butt in to the conversation that did not involve him), oldboy, city of god, blow, etc. all the movies i feel i should've seen somehow before if i had ever actually been interested in films... or entertainment in general, actually.

whenever i think back on how behind i am when it comes to knowing random tidbits everyone else will seem to take for granted, and realize that i don't know anything about them, i feel comparable to stephen (knows NOTHING about popular culture, excluding new - bad – music). the only thing i realize i know about is rap music. my 90s hip hop knowledge stayed pretty much up to par throughout my childhood, but when the underground scene came about, i refused to immerse myself within the community. something else i regret. sure, i was blastin' nas before most kids were; when i illegally downloaded illmatic in 6th grade i thought i was the shit, but i missed out on so many great acts around that time. i remember when i used to browse sixshot forums to keep up to date on the latest hip hop news. waiting to see what scandals and rumors had arisen. i remember downloading my first MF DOOM song, being completely unready for such creativity and thinking that mess was trash, then proceeding to read up on the most recent nelly or jay-z story. all in all i guess my journey through hip hop wasn't too bad - there are still some (18 year-old) "kids" today running around bumpin power 106 to hear the latest weezy or g-unit single. diversify, kiddies... it's good for you.

well all the people that were awake have simultaneously drifted off, and i suppose it's about time for me to do the same.

late

No comments: