Monday, June 23, 2008

weezy bay-beh

today i had like 6 different conversations about entertainment, careers, yadda yadda. after aimlessly browsing the internet for a few hours, getting into a very cynical mindset, and then listening to a bunch of electronic music, i've come to a conclusion about all these convos i had throughout the day - everything comes down to creativity.

if i could just pick one solid theme that my day revolved around, it would without a doubt be creative aptitude. i was talking to my mom earlier about how important creativity is to find certain jobs and stuff, it was a very interesting discussion. then we argued about lil wayne for like 8 hours at mar'tee's. that whole discussion was kind of saddening. i can't understand how people can honestly like music AND like lil wayne, doesn't make sense to me and probably never will. then the whole television thing: family guy, then some terrible movie, then a brief talk about "good movies" and m. night shamalan. creativity was responsible for everything that made me laugh, entertained me, made me upset, made me feel ashamed, made me feel anything.

i realize that i am entertained by things that are different, and things that are not different just tend to piss me off. i mean, i kinda knew this already, but it didn't really matter that much to me until i saw how much it affected my mood today. some of the discussions i had just pissed me off because i don't see how people can be so simple-minded sometimes. i want to be as detailed with this as i can because i want to reread this later and reevaluate my position because i might be overreacting or just being extremely elitist about this whole thing. all in all, people that have no creativity or uniqueness to them upset me. i mean, it's just so easy to have something special about yourself. some recognizable quality that makes you different. something to distinguish you from the rest of mindless drones that walk around like automated machines, living life pretty much systematically.

this is why i always try to go against the grain for fun, the reasons i don't want to blend in with what people expect me to blend in with. this is why i always make fun of mike when he dresses like me, or make fun of neil for listening to the same music i do, or just laugh at all the random indie mofos that dress like their life is so tragic and live an entirely counterintuitive existence by trying to stand out, but looking exactly like all the other indie kids with no real sense of individuality. a lot of the time my prejudgment is proven to be inaccurate when i actually get to know someone, but that makes meeting people all the more exciting. its just when i do encounter those repetitious, mundane personalities, it frustrates me. don't get me wrong, you don't have to be some bright-color-wearing, obnoxious-acting, artistically-abstract-thinking, animated character, you just have to care about being an individual. i know people that look boring, are extremely quiet, and enjoy (things that i feel are) the stupidest hobbies on the planet. but these people can still be interesting to me for the fact that they don't want to fit in. that's creative in my eyes. creativity is just not being like everyone else; whether you're reserved or super-outgoing, it doesn't matter. just don't be like everyone else, please.

since i'm pretty much just having an e-tantrum right now, i might as well go on about something else that bothers me. something that really gets on my nerves is when people try to be internet-chic or e-cool by using random formatting and emoticons. that shit does not look "pretty" or make you seem like some uber-stylish tech genius. FORMATTING IS ONLY USEFUL IN EMPHASIZING WORDS THAT DESERVE EMPHASIS, STOP USING IT AS IF IT'S SOME TYPE OF PUNCTUATION TOOL OR BASIC SENTENCE BUILDER . don't alternate capitals, don't put little "~"s and "&hearts"s in your text, it doesn't look good. alternating caps is the worst idea since chopped & screwed music. it looks terrible, is incredibly difficult to read, and wastes your time typing it and my time trying to figure out what you're saying and why you can't type it like a normal person would. don't format words for the sake of formatting, bolded words that deserve no special attention are just regular words that look stupid. imagine formatted words to be words you'd yell or stress or drag in a verbal conversation (e.g "he did WHAT?"). you don't bold words unless they need that emphasis. this is my little test for if a word deserves formatting.

read the sentence with formatted word out loud
if word is bolded - say louder. if italicized - hold it longer. if underlined - who knows, but say it differently.
see if formatting fits well in current spot
if not, TAKE THAT JUNK OUT.

alright, i guess that's enough negativity for one day. hopefully everything's sunshine tomorrow. i'm gonna go daydream.
out

No comments: