Tuesday, July 29, 2008

expectations

let's chronicle my summer thus far...

free from school's shackles:
started off really dope. lot's of random stuff, lot's of hanging out. late nights, late days, swimming, visits, etc. was what i hoped for.

in search of...:
looking for a job pretty much anywhere to get up the funds. me and neil driving around random nearby cities. looking for a job in the early hours into the afternoon, then head back to play basketball or eat or hang with people. was pretty fun. we had a task to accomplish, then once we were finished with this "work" we'd go play. it was chill, would've been cool with this type of activity for a while.

working man:
since having my job, summer has went on a MAJOR decline as far as entertainment is concerned. every day i get out of work, everyone is at home asleep. every day i'm off work, everyone is at home doing nothing. every day before i start work, everyone is at home. wtf is going on. nobody does anything anymore. i've been complaining about this for like the past two weeks (i do love complaining), and it just gets worse and worse. this is the most boring period of any summer i've endured in my 18 years of living/enjoying summers. in all seriousness, the highlight of my day is going to work. you may be wondering why - because i have something to do and actually get to encounter human interaction. at my house everyone sleeps. that's it. sleep, go to work, sleep, repeat. there's nothing to do at home, so i like to go out. only problem is, everyone else feels the complete opposite. there's nothing to do outside, so instead of creating something or finding something to do, they'd rather sit home and "save money" or "relax" or "do absolutely nothing within the comforts of my own room with absolutely nobody else's company." goodness, this is driving me insane. next year, i've decided i won't come home from school more than twice a month. i want to come home once a month at most, so i can actually have something to do. also, when i come back home people will actually want to hang out and i don't have to worry about doing what i've been doing for the past three weeks every weekend i come back. don't get me wrong, last year everyone was down on the weekends to chill. but i don't want to cater anymore, i want to make things easier for me. i want to prefer situations more convenient to my schedule. naturally, i'm sure there will be consequences, but what the hell - can't possibly be lead to more boredom than i've sustained over the past few weeks.

wake me up when september comes around, bet everyone will get all nostalgic and available around then.

night

Tuesday, July 22, 2008

all i do is party, ha ha ha ha

the past week has been pretty dope.

two events pretty much sum it up completely: dark knight + hardfest. one of the best movies and one of the best concerts i've seen/been to in my life.

everyone's seen dark knight by now, so no point on talking about that. heath ledger was amazing. etc. etc.

hardfest was so much fun. might be the best concert i've been to thus far. standing concerts > sitting concerts without a doubt. i don't like dancing and whatever, but in an atmosphere like that, it's impossible to not have fun. drugs were all over the place, and most everyone was cracked out, but the people were still really nice (then again, people aren't really upset about anything when they're rollin).
n*e*r*d held a great performance, possibly the best i've ever seen. i've never seen a group be so active and motivate a crowd so well. there was so much moshing and crowdsurfing and jumping and everything possible to make the performance more exciting. the people were all into it, the group + the entourage, the lights, the smoke, the sound - god that was great. i'm looking forward to seeing them again next time they come around.
mstrkrft was also extremely dope. for the entire 2 hours that they were spinning, the people in the crowd did not stop moving. everyone was dancing, jumping, vibing, it was great. definitely will be making an effort to see them again as well.

the entire thing got me thinking whether i want to go to a rave or not. me and neil were thinking about it, and it seems highly likely that we'll try to attend one within the upcoming months. as long as we get a dope crew to roll with, it'll all be copacetic. whoever's interested, let me know.

well yeah, i've been slacking on the updates and the depth of the few updates that do get done, but it's because i've been way too tired lately. surprisingly, that's a good thing. work has given me something to do, has become that something to keep me occupied - i'm finally developing nice sleeping habits (nice for me, at least). 7 hours of sleep to match my 7 hours of work. it's great.

okay, work tomorrow at 3, time to get my 7 hours worth.
night.

Sunday, July 20, 2008

concerto

one of the most tiring nights of my life. so much fun.
mstkrft was ill. n.e.r.d was amazing. great event.

just got home, and now i have work at 9. tomorrow is gonna be difficult...

Wednesday, July 16, 2008

fatty

tomorrow i think i'm waking up at 9am to get a haircut. but mostly because i'm craving one of these right now:


see you at 45, heart-attack.

Tuesday, July 15, 2008

adulthood

means nothing in my household.
when can parents learn to let go? it'd be good for all parties.

work tomorrow.
goodnight

Monday, July 14, 2008

throw away your television

because shows suck nowadays.
during the course of a great discussion on old and new television shows (cartoons specifically), we came to the conclusion that this guy had one of the best shows during our childhood:


Hey Arnold! was one of the best animated shows of our era. the show had everything, really. music, emotion, great stories, morals, etc. i hope i can get a hold of the series on dvd before it fades into oblivion, i would still watch it now. the turtle episode is my favorite, of course (click the picture to watch it on nickelodeon, if you can put up with all the terrible ads of "eddie murphy in eddie murphy in meet dave").

tomorrow, 7 hour shift. somebody save me :(
afterwards what's going on? we'll see how well i am at predicting the future...


goodnight

Sunday, July 13, 2008

reminisce

8 hour shifts are crazy. my fingers feel like they could start bleeding any moment, and my body is so exhausted. i won't be up until like 2pm tomorrow, but that's the beauty of lazy sunday right? long night talking with everyone, having doing summery chill things. great stuff.

something i thought about today: have you ever felt that you didn't have control of what you were doing (without being under influence of some substance)? today i thought about it, and i realize that a lot of the time when i sit back and enjoy myself, i find that i'm doing things without really knowing that i'm doing them. not like i'm sitting on my hand and it goes numb or that my finger is bleeding and i don't notice, nothing weak like that. but like, the things i'm doing aren't really processed in my brain. it's as if i'm just doing things impulsively, actions completely uninhibited. i don't really know how i feel about that, because it makes me wonder when i'm actually being myself. am i not being myself if i don't do things that i think i should do? or if i do things before i even consider the consequences? i know i'm making it sound more complex than it really is, but it was just weird. it's like sitting watching yourself do things and not doing anything about it. sure i can do something, i can stop being so impetuous, but is it really a bad thing if i'm not doing bad things? i'm just acting spontaneous, after all.

blah, it's just weird. do you think about what you do before you do it, or just do what comes to your head first? no clue, but either way, the thing to do right now is go to sleep.

goodnight!

Saturday, July 12, 2008

this is how we chill

hiero concert was dope. first 3-4 acts (however many came on before blue scholars) sucked, but the last two acts were great.

this blue scholars group definitely earned a fan today, they're performance was really good. they were really interactive, very entertaining, and had a dope style of music. everything about them was great, i will definitely be keeping up with them from now on. the guys seemed really cool too. i talked to geologic briefly after the show and he was really down to earth. during the performance i also got to shout out MF DOOM to the entire crowd, which was pretty dope :)

hard festival is next week and i still don't have tickets. i don't even know if i work, i really need to get on it. if i can't make it though, rock the bells will be my next concert. either way it will be the best of the summer without a doubt since MF has been confirmed as an act. i hope that nasty email i wrote impacted something or someone, or at least got read by someone. the lineup for the concert is gonna be dope (wish the roots were there, though), and i can't wait for august to come 'round.

work has been pretty good i guess. did two 4 hour shifts, and now coming up on my first 8 hour day. it's keeping me occupied, which is good, because it means that i don't have to sit at home and be upset that everyone flaked for the day. now i actually have to schedule things, i feel like i'm more organized. and i actually have spending money, which is a huge plus.

well, i should sleep. work at 12, peace.

Wednesday, July 9, 2008

rule number 1

keep your fazers on stun.
something i've been trying to teach stephen for the past few months. boxing day will come sooner or later before summer's over - not the day after christmas.

the past few days have been pretty boring. to the point where i haven't even taken my camera out the house. this isn't like last summer, there was always something to do. now i sit around at home until like 6pm and go out later for like 4-6 hours, which is pretty much a waste of a day. where are the spontaneous trips? where are the random visits to peoples' homes? where are the beach trips? where the hell is orange county? gahdaklsnd. i need to be busy.

work tomorrow. hopefully this is that "something to do" to make my days feel more substantive. i don't like to waste things, time included. first day in 7 hours, goodnight.

Monday, July 7, 2008

emoshinz



this song never ceases to amaze me.

Sunday, July 6, 2008

nightvision

so while i sit here listening to daft punk, i'm deciding to write a little bit on my mood.
i've been very irritable as of late, i don't know why. small things have been upsetting me, and my fuse has been quite short. also, i keep looking for negative things. and i've been really bored. am i doing something wrong? why does everything seem so lackluster? i need to diversify... to diverge maybe. i'm starting to feel lethargic. it seems like my life is in black and white now - too dull, too monotonous. i want color again, i miss the effervescence.

yes. no. stop. go. ughhhhhh
why can't i just listen.
goodnight

Saturday, July 5, 2008

pyro-glyphics

spending 4th of july in LA and seeing all these random kids set off their own pyrotechnic parade in their front yards made me realize how easily people are amused. i mean really, i used to love fireworks and everything. even though i've lit like two my whole life, they were fun to watch and all that when i was about 7 years old. honestly, i enjoy light shows as much as anyone else. i used to love listening to and watching the firework shows when i worked at disneyland. every time i had a night shift i hoped i was off work by 9:15 so i could watch the array of colors shoot through the sky over cinderella's castle for that twenty-two minutes. it's very mesmerizing. but i don't understand how you can stay entertained when you're 16+ years old and sit in the driveway lighting random sparklers and bottlerockets off for 6 hours. all negativity aside though, i still had fun watching the professional shows/displays from afar. driving on the 605 seeing huge fireworks in every direction was pretty cool. now i really want to watch the sunset for some reason.

arright. i'm kinda tired, so short entry today.
happy belated 4th, and goodnight

Thursday, July 3, 2008

yu-gi-OMG

strangest thing ever.
mike and harry show up at my house playing yu-gi-oh at 3 in the morning. i thought that was weird, but not too out of the ordinary for mike and harry to do. so i watch them play this stupid game for about 30 minutes, i'm taking pictures, yadda yadda. now mind you, it's near 330 in the morning - all the nocturnal creatures are roaming around like it's nobody's business. so being the paranoid person that I am, I keep looking around trying to find where all these random noises are coming from. eventually I see one of my neighbors come out of the shadows around his porch and head out for work. kinda scary at first, but then you realize "oh that's just mr. so-and-so going to work, nothing unusual." next, I see movement near my doorstep, peek over and see a cat. now this is when it starts getting weird.

so the cat walks by, scurries across the driveway, and goes by my trash cans. again, not too strange, right? so then mike and harry continue playing yu-gi-oh. by this time, harry is about as "observant" as i am, checking his shoulder every few minutes. so about 3-5 minutes go by and all of a sudden we hear scuffling through the trash on the side of my house. could easily be explained by the cat going through some random trash that wasn't in a bin (newspapers, cans, bottles, etc.). so me and harry both look to the side of my house to see what's going on, but it's pitch black. then all of a sudden, we hear the most human-like breathing pattern/noises coming from the side of the house. out of absolutely nowhere. no more rummaging noise, just something breathing very heavily as if it just ran the 400m dash. immediately we all look at each other (somehow), and gather everything and take off. so pretty much we sit in my house until like 4am and then mike and harry sprint to mike's car to go home. definitely the scariest incident i've experienced in quite a while.

if anyone has heard a coyote breathing, let me know if it sounds human-like. tomorrow morning i have to go check for cat blood to see what the deal was. if there's blood, it was most likely a coyote or fox or something that roams around here eating someone's pet. if there is no evidence of a struggle, then i'm gonna be very confused and slightly afraid.

someone should buy me a gun. that would also help me get my rap career off the ground, lawl.

okay, i'm still a bit shook up, but it's time for my slumber. just don't tell mobb deep, i got street cred to protect. peace.